First time using Mudlet and couldn't connect on macOS

Post Reply
cs5938141
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2023 10:36 pm

First time using Mudlet and couldn't connect on macOS

Post by cs5938141 »

I have macOS 13.2 and I recently installed Mudlet. But it hangs on this message:

Code: Select all

[ INFO ]  - Trying to connect to 794.859.634.561:4201 ...
Note that it did not actually say 794.859.634.561 but the IP of the server. What should I do?

EDIT: Clarified that it should be an ipv4
Last edited by cs5938141 on Sun Dec 17, 2023 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
demonnic
Posts: 886
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 3:19 pm

Re: First time using Mudlet and couldn't connect on macOS

Post by demonnic »

Did you put the IP address in yourself, or did you use the hostname and it resolved the IP address? If the latter, is it an IPv4 address (0-255.0-255.0-255.0-255) or IPv6 (xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx)? If the latter, it could be that their hostname resolves to an ipv6 address but isn't listening on it, in which case you may need to specify the ipv4 address yourself.

cs5938141
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2023 10:36 pm

Re: First time using Mudlet and couldn't connect on macOS

Post by cs5938141 »

I used an ipv4 manually. I'll clarify that in my original post.

User avatar
demonnic
Posts: 886
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 3:19 pm

Re: First time using Mudlet and couldn't connect on macOS

Post by demonnic »

then I'm not entirely sure, honestly. I've never had any issues when using an ipv4 directly, even with the wrong port I'd expect a timeout. It's almost like something is blackholing the connection. It's not the standard telnet port but I have seen where some ISPs will do that. Do other clients work fine with the same connection information?

User avatar
SlySven
Posts: 1026
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:40 pm
Location: Deepest Wiltshire, UK
Discord: SlySven#2703

Re: First time using Mudlet and couldn't connect on macOS

Post by SlySven »

demonnic wrote:then I'm not entirely sure, honestly. I've never had any issues when using an ipv4 directly, even with the wrong port I'd expect a timeout...
Except Mudlet will not ever timeout - we never put in any functionality to do that (despite a couple of members in the Host class (int) mTimeout and (int) mRetries) that have been in the class since before I started coding on Mudlet...!

Post Reply